8 CAS Nominations for Skywalker Sound

| January 11, 2017

The Cinema Audio Society announced nominees for the 53rd CAS Awards and Skywalker Sound projects were honored with eight nominations across multiple categories.


In the category of Motion Picture – Live Action, Tom Johnson, Juan Peralta, and Scott Curtis were nominated for Doctor Strange and Chris Scarabosio, David Parker, and Frank Rinella were nominated for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.


Skywalker projects nabbed four out of the five nominations in the Motion Picture – Animated category with Finding Dory (Nathan Nance, Michael Semanick, and Scott Curtis), Moana (Scott Curtis), The Secret Life of Pets (Gary Rizzo, David Acord, and Jason Butler), and Zootopia (Scott Curtis).


In the category of Motion Picture – Documentary, Pete Horner was nominated for his work on The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and The Silk Road Ensemble.


And in the category of Television Non-Fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials, Chris Barnett, Roy Waldspurger, and Jason Butler were nominated for “Mars: Novo Mundo”.


Click here for a complete list of nominations. The Awards will be presented February 18 at the OMNI Hotel, Los Angeles.