The Motion Picture Sound Editors announced their Golden Reel nominees and Skywalker Sound received thirteen nominations across several categories.  Cars 3, Coco, Despicable Me 3, Ferdinand, An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power, Icarus, In Pursuit of Silence, Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Thor: Ragnarok, Little Evil, Carne Y Arena, Coco VR, and Star Wars: Rebels, “Trails of the Darksaber” were all nominated.


A complete list of nominations can be found here.


The 65th Annual MPSE Golden Reel Awards will be held Sunday, February 18 at the Westin Bonaventure in Los Angeles.  Congratulations to all the nominees on such a fantastic and wide-ranging body of work and best of luck!







The Cinema Audio Society announced it’s nominations for outstanding achievement in mixing this morning and Skywalker Sound projects received six nominations.  Star Wars: The Last Jedi was nominated in the Motion Picture – Live Action category and in the Animated category, SkySound received four out of the five nominations with Cars 3, Coco, Despicable Me 3, and Ferdinand all being nominated!   Also nominated for Motion Picture – Documentary was An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power.


Head over here for a complete list of nominations.  The CAS Awards will be presented on February 24 at the Omni Hotel in Los Angeles.

For the fifth straight year, the Sundance Music and Sound Design Lab has returned to Skywalker Sound.  This lab provides a group of six emerging Composers with valuable firsthand experience composing for film.  Each Composer will be paired with a Filmmaker with a project in post-production.  These Filmmaker/Composer teams will work closely with in-house Sound Designers and Re-recording Mixers to integrate all aspects of sound for film.


Click here for the complete list of Composers and Filmmakers.  They will be joined by Skywalker Sound’s Dave Acord, Bob Edwards, Malcolm Fife, Dennis Leonard, Kent Sparling, and Bonnie Wild.


With leading Film Composers, Directors, Music Editors, and Music Supervisors serving as Creative Advisors, Lab Fellows work closely together in a supportive atmosphere designed to promote experimentation and collaboration.

Skywalker Sound was awarded with two Golden Reel Awards on Sunday night.  Moana won in the category of Feature Film, Animation and The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble won in the category of Feature Film, Documentary:


Best Sound & Music Editing: Feature Film; Animation
Supervising Sound Editor: Tim Nielsen
Supervising Dialogue Editor: Jacob Riehle
Foley Editors: Thom Brennan, Matthew Harrison
Music Editors: Earl Ghaffari, Dan Pinder
Temp Music Editors: Dominick Certo, Tommy Holmes
Sound Effects Editors: Jonathan Borland, Pascal Garneau, Lee Gilmore
Foley Artists: John Roesch, Shelley Roden


Best Sound & Music Editing: Feature Film; Documentaries
The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and The Silk Road Ensemble
Supervising Sound Editor: Pete Horner
Sound Designer: Al Nelson
Sound Effects Editor: Andre Zweers


Congratulations to all for such incredible work!

Skywalker Sound was awarded Saturday night with two Cinema Audio Society Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing.  Nathan Nance, Michael Semanick, and Scott Curtis won for Finding Dory in the category of Motion Picture – Animated.  Pete Horner won for The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and The Silk Road Ensemble in the category of Motion Picture – Documentary.


Congratulations to Nathan, Michael, Scott, and Pete!


A complete list of nominees and winners can be found here.